Improved 2 part @Randy Holmes-Farley recipe #1 can I add Tropic Marin ‘part c’ trace elements?

hotashes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pretty much would like to know the compatibility if possible of above topic.

I’ve been running recipe 1 since August 2018 and tank has been stable. If I swap out the magnesium for ‘part c’ Tropic marine and dose equal measures in relation to my Alk & Cal what outcome will this produce. I’m not exactly sure how to explain this question on scientific terms, however although I kind of understand my question I cannot do the math behind the science to predict the outcome.

Please feel free to check my thread for specifics #80

Many ways to skin a reef, this is mine. (54 Litre/14 Gallon)
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sh...ne.-(54-Litre-14-Gallon).376872/&share_type=t

87a1ad7238b8680445b3db692b6bcc66.jpg

A.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would not put that mix into either part of a two part.

If you really wanted to experiment, the calcium part is the way to do it, but there's a good reason that two parts are not designed that way. I suspect calcium sulfate may precipitate, and perhaps more.

To make a true two part (like B-ionic), the stuff that is in the Balling third part (essentially everything in a salt mix except calcium and alkalinity) is split between the calcium and alk parts parts, not just put into one of them. Some things (sulfate, magnesium, etc.) are only stable in one of the two halves. But Balling mixes them together in their third part.

OP
OP
hotashes

hotashes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In case I miss understood, I got the idea here from @randyBRS & @Ryanbrs